Just something to start your week off with…

imagine

I keep this on/around my desktop.   It is a reminder.   When I was in Junior High School (I think) I remember being told that we had to go to Echo Bridge for a turf fight between the Newton side and the Needham side.  Yeah, I might be a bit of a goody-two-shoes now but I ran with the rough bunch.  No I didn’t.  I just fit in better.  Now this wasn’t going to be a “rumble” of the 1950’s but apparently we, the Newtonites, needed to claim the entire bridge from the Needhamites.  Gosh forbid we split it in the middle.  And I certainly couldn’t let “my side” know that I actually spent more time on the “other side” as it was nicer.  So I went.  But on the way there it struck me that this was more than a local issue, it was a global one.  If our neighboring towns couldn’t get along then how could our neighboring states?  And no wonder why the state’s had such differing views.  Regions?  Country?  The World?    It was a real moment, one that I still remember, for a 12 or 13 year old to figure out.  Maybe that realization was part of what guided me to be such a neighborhood guy.  Being nice, courteous, and gracious at home, with your neighbors can have a global effect.  Peace shouldn’t have to be a dream, it should be an achievable goal.

One response to “Just something to start your week off with…

  1. Of coarse, this is from John Lennon’s “Imagine.” He also sang:

    Imagine there’s no heaven
    It’s easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only sky
    Imagine all the people
    Living for today…

    He knew that as long as we have religion, people would be going to war for irrational reasons. He knew that the path to peace is compassion and rational thinking.

Leave a Reply

